Item 4.1

Greater Sydney Parklands - Council Nomination for Centennial Parklands Community Trustee Board

File No: S127007.015

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

Greater Sydney Parklands is a NSW Government agency established in July 2020 to manage some of Sydney's most iconic parks: Centennial Parklands (including Moore Park and Queens Park), Western Sydney Parklands, Parramatta Park, Callan Park and Fernhill Estate.

Each parkland in the Greater Sydney Parklands (GSP) estate – Callan Park, Centennial Parklands, Fernhill Estate, Parramatta Park and Western Sydney Parklands – has a Community Trustee Board (CTB). The boards provide advice and recommendations from a community perspective to make decisions about the parklands, and include community members with heritage, First Nations and local government expertise.

The Community Trustee Boards play a key advisory role for Greater Sydney Parklands. They represent a broad range of community interests and local perspectives on park stewardship, activities and usage. They also advise the Greater Sydney Parklands Trust (GSPT) on environmental, heritage and cultural matters.

The Greater Sydney Parklands Trust Act 2022 specifies that each Community Trustee Boards will have at least 7 members. This includes:

- a member nominated by each relevant local council as community representatives there is provision for City of Sydney, Randwick, Waverley and Woollahra councils to each nominate a representative to the Centennial Park and Moore Park Community Trustee Board. Note: additional Council representatives may attend Community Trustee Board meetings as non-voting observers.
- up to 6 other members, including a First Nations representative and heritage representative, will be appointed by the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces, on the advice of the Greater Sydney Parklands Trust.

In line with the Act, positions on the Community Trustee Board for Centennial Park and Moore Park are voluntary and not remunerated.

On 31 October 2022, Council endorsed the nomination of the Lord Mayor Councillor Clover Moore AO, as the City of Sydney representative to the Community Trustee Board for Centennial Park and Moore Park. The Minister subsequently approved the appointment. At that meeting, Council also endorsed former City of Sydney Councillor, Philip Thalis as the Lord Mayor's delegate.

The first term of the Centennial Park and Moore Park Community Trustee Board expires on 31 December 2024.

Community Trustee Board members can hold office for a period not exceeding 5 years. Members are appointed by the Minister for 2 years in the first instance and are eligible (if otherwise qualified) for re-appointment – for a maximum of 2 consecutive terms.

All Community Trustee Board members for the next term need to be appointed by the Minister by late 2024. Greater Sydney Parklands have requested that the nomination for the representative for the Centennial Park and Moore Park Community Trustee Board be made by Monday 2 December 2024.

Recommendation

It is resolved that Council:

- (A) nominate and endorse ______ as the City of Sydney representative to the Community Trustee Board for Centennial Park and Moore Park; and
- (B) note the Community Trustee Board for Centennial Park and Moore Park Terms of Reference as shown at Attachment A to the subject memorandum.

MONICA BARONE PSM

Chief Executive Officer

Attachments

Attachment A. Community Trustee Board for Centennial Park and Moore Park Terms of Reference